Monday, June 30, 2014

Book Blitz~Primordial Dust by Sarah Daltry

Book Info:
Title: Primordial Dust
Author: Sarah Daltry
Genre: Fantasy (Romance/YA)

A princess, trained to behave. An assassin, betrothed to her. A thief, whose eyes she dreams of at night. A kingdom at war, torn apart by the suppression of magic and truth, as well as family secrets that threaten to destroy decades of peace. Questions of loyalty, of morality, and of free will culminate in a fantasy novel about forging one’s own path and choosing one’s own destiny.

Buy Links:



Excerpt: 
Alusia smiles wanly. “What happened in Kooram?” she asks.
“There was a party. We were dancing. Seamus and I were celebrating our engagement...” I pause, ashamed. He sits beside me, unaware of my role in this, oblivious to my own deception. “It was my fault.”
Seamus takes my hand. “Alondra, stop. You know this has nothing to do with you.”
“It has everything to do with her,” Alusia interrupts. “And her mother.”
“Look, although Alondra seems thankful for whatever you want to share with her, I don't care what these secrets are. This is not her fault and she does not need you blaming her.” Seamus's anger is new to me. I have been so amazed by his calm, his kindness; he is more like a Demorian now than I have ever seen him, and I have watched him cut a man's throat.
Alusia sighs. “I do not mean to assign blame. But we can no longer pretend that this was a rogue attack, that these events have not culminated in bringing you here, that fate has not worked its magic to get this book into her hands.” She runs her fingers along the book on her lap.
“It's fine,” I say. “But it was not fate. Maybe I did not make the only bad choices, but choices got us here. And I, for one, am tired of hearing about fate.”
“The attack,” Seamus continues. “It was sudden. A siren spell warned us before the mages were slaughtered. I don't know how they breached the Demorian guard, but without the dying spell of an elder mage, no one would be sitting here right now with you.”
“So you ran?” Alusia asks.
“I don't run,” I argue. “In fact, I am only here because someone kidnapped me in my sleep.”
“It was her father's wish,” Seamus mumbles.
“The forces came quickly. We spread the word to meet in the caves and Kooram split into two groups: those who were running for the caves, and those who would stay behind. My parents were with those running, but I stayed. Ereditus, our commander, rallied the troops. Seamus was already by my side. My friend, Lormander...”
I stop and think of that moment. Sanara's face, broken by the choice he was making, is etched into my memory. I watched her fingers slowly fall from his hand and the agony in her glance as she turned back to see him one last time tore me asunder. And now, somewhere, are they reunited? Did she lead everyone to Tallagut? Did he stay behind in the caves to face his death, remembering her kiss as the blade entered his heart? I choke on the images and tears rest on the precipice of my eyelids.
“We stayed,” I repeat. “There were so many of them. It was chaos. Smoke billowed from the streets, from our homes, from everything that was my childhood. I saw young boys, thinking they were brave, split in twain as the attackers stepped over the corpses, trailing death. What I remember most was the sound. The crash of swords, the screams of the fallen, the crackle of burning. The details are hazy. We left Kooram in ruins when we saw that we were outclassed. I walked through fields of carnage to the caves, only to wake on the other side, in a mirror world, yet untouched.”
“The king, he asked that we come here. He said you had the answers, the only weapon we could use against him,” Seamus adds. My shattered body sits beside him, but my mind and my soul are still with the dead.
“I am an old woman, and a forgotten mage,” Alusia says. “I am also the keeper of secrets and memories. I do not forge steel. My only weapon is knowledge. But that I have in abundance, and I believe it is time Alondra take her share.”
She rises from the dusty chair and approaches. I sense my hands as they lift to take the book she offers; the leather cover is hardened, but smooth to touch. I run my hand along the spine and trace the embossed seal.
“Please take this to your room. You will need time, and you will need privacy. When you are done, I will be waiting for your questions.”

Dream Cast:


Alondra: A princess of a kingdom lost in time and wrapped in secrets. Snarky and difficult, because life has always been easy, she is unprepared to be the leader she needs to be when her city falls.


Seamus: A trained assassin tasked with keeping his own city, and all the cities of the kingdom, safe. Betrothed to Alondra for diplomatic reasons. Much kinder than his profession reveals.


Layla: A young girl trained to be an assassin, sent to kill the son of the king. Her hopes rest on succeeding in her quest, because if she fails, there is no alternative but death.


Tevlin: The mysterious man who captures Alondra’s heart on a night before the world fell apart. His eyes whispered secrets, but they may be secrets that led to the ruin of everything she held dear.

About the Author:

Sarah Daltry writes about the regular people who populate our lives. She's written works in various genres - romance, erotica, fantasy, horror. Genre isn't as important as telling a story about people and how their lives unfold. Sarah tends to focus on YA/NA characters but she's been known to shake it up. Most of her stories are about relationships - romantic, familial, friendly - because love and empathy are the foundation of life. It doesn't matter if the story is set in contemporary NY, historical Britain, or a fantasy world in the future - human beings are most interesting in the ways they interact with others. This is the principle behind all of Sarah's stories.

Sarah has spent most of her life in school, from her BA and MA in English and writing to teaching both at the high school and college level. She also loves studying art history and really anything because learning is fun. 

When Sarah isn't writing, she tends to waste a lot of time checking the internet for pictures of cats, shooting virtual zombies, and simply staring out the window.

She has written several books, most notably Bitter Fruits, an urban fantasy in the Eden’s Fall series, Backward Compatible: A Geek Love Story, and the six book New Adult Flowering series, including Forget Me Not, Lily of the Valley, Blue Rose, Star of Bethlehem, Orange Blossom, and Ambrosia.

Social Media Links:

Website: http://sarahdaltry.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorSarahDaltry
Twitter: http://twitter.com/SarahDaltry

Top Ten:
Sarah’s Favorite Fantasy Movies:

  1. The Princess Bride
  2. Labyrinth
  3. The Neverending Story
  4. Brave
  5. The Wizard of Oz
  6. Shrek
  7. Pan’s Labyrinth
  8. Harry Potter (all of them)
  9. Bridge to Terabithia
  10. Mirrormask
Win a signed paperback of the novel or a $25 gift card to Apple, Amazon, or B&N!

Sunday, June 29, 2014

Author Interview~Sarah Daltry (Author of Primordial Dust)


~INTERVIEW~

1. What made you decide to become an author?

I don't feel like it was a decision. It was more like I was always making up stories and it just made sense to write them down. I still have a love/hate relationship with all things "author," because it feels sort of obnoxious to want people to read my work. 

2. Is there a message in your book that you want your readers to grasp?

All of my books tend to deal with the idea of normalcy and accepting yourself for who you are. 

3. How did you come up with your title?

Actually I was in the Smithsonian last summer. I had been working on this for ages but had no titles I liked. I saw a science exhibit on space and primordial dust - and I loved the phrase. It's not about space, but the words just sounded fun coming off my tongue. 

4. Do you base any of the events in your book on your own life experiences?

In this one, no. It's definitely all made up.

5. What is the hardest part of writing for you?

Publishing. I don't know how to market myself. I just want to tell stories and talk to people about books. I'm not interested in playing games. Don't get me wrong - I will TALK to anyone about anything. I'm not standoffish. However, there are lots of little groups and you have to pick and choose and it's really all just stupid. I feel like I'm in high school again. I simply want to write books and talk to other people who like, write, or read books. 

6. Is there anything you’d like to say to your readers?

Thank you! I love when people read my work. It's such an honor and it will never get old. 

7. Any other advice you would give to other writers?

Write for yourself and for the right reasons. I've noticed a lot of authors swap genres, but some do because they love stories of all kinds and others seem to follow trends. I feel like the latter tend to show in their work. If you suddenly won a million dollars and you would stop writing or stop writing what you're writing and write something else, you are doing it for the wrong reasons. My integrity means a lot to me. My books and words and characters mean too much to sell them out for what's "hip."

~AUTHOR BIO~

Sarah Daltry writes about the regular people who populate our lives. She's written works in various genres - romance, erotica, fantasy, horror. Genre isn't as important as telling a story about people and how their lives unfold. Sarah tends to focus on YA/NA characters but she's been known to shake it up. Most of her stories are about relationships - romantic, familial, friendly - because love and empathy are the foundation of life. It doesn't matter if the story is set in contemporary NY, historical Britain, or a fantasy world in the future - human beings are most interesting in the ways they interact with others. This is the principle behind all of Sarah's stories.

Sarah has spent most of her life in school, from her BA and MA in English and writing to teaching both at the high school and college level. She also loves studying art history and really anything because learning is fun. 

When Sarah isn't writing, she tends to waste a lot of time checking the internet for pictures of cats, shooting virtual zombies, and simply staring out the window.

She has written several books, most notably Bitter Fruits, an urban fantasy in the Eden’s Fall series, Backward Compatible: A Geek Love Story, and the six book New Adult Flowering series, including Forget Me Not, Lily of the Valley, Blue Rose, Star of Bethlehem, Orange Blossom, and Ambrosia.

Saturday, June 28, 2014

Currently Reading

There was a time when I couldn't read two books at the same time. I mixed up the stories and the worlds and it was hard for me to follow both of them simultaneously. Now I am currently reading 4 books! Which is huge for me! The weird thing is that I never mix up the stories or the characters or the worlds. I think I have matured as a reader...

I haven't posted a book review in a while so I thought I should give you a little update on what I am reading.

1. MARY: The Summoning by Hillary Monahan


I have been craving horror like crazy, recently! I was thrilled when I was approved on NetGalley for this title! I am half-way through this book. There are some things I like and some things I don't like. The horror scenes are great and make my heart beat like crazy! The description of Bloody Mary is awesome too! So much so that it kinda creeps me out! But the friendship drama is so annoying and boring! And I don't connect with any of the characters. I don't even care about them! I hope this gets better though...

2. The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines


I'm reading this along with my best friend. I really like the writing and the characters and story. But I have some issues. I don't like how Ash doesn't have a backbone. She's stringing along a guy she knows she doesn't like that way. I really don't like that. I don't like how fake Sawyer seems, and he hasn't even appeared yet! Everyone in the town worships Sawyer, which is weird. I get the "small town, everybody's business" thing but Ash lets it affect her too much. Plus she comes off as very desperate. I am enjoying this book. But these things kinda bother me.

3. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin


This is a big book so it's taking me some time to finish it. But boy is it good! The writing is amazing! The world the author has created is awesome! He described it so well that it's not hard to imagine and when I'm reading it I find myself in that place. It's like I am there along with the characters. I really like how real and flawed the characters are. And that he has written each chapter from different characters perspectives. Each character has his own voice. The story is interesting and suspenseful. I love this book! But I haven't seen the show, nor do I plan to. At least not for the time being.

4. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier


Stunning writing! Absolutely stunning! This was recommended to me by my aunt and I'm really enjoying it. Sure, the protagonist is annoying sometimes because she is too simple but I get why she is like that. The story wouldn't work if she wasn't. So I don't have a problem with that. I'm loving this one so far!

So, these are the books I am currently reading! Share what you are reading in the comments below! No one can have too many books. ;)

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Book Spotlight~The Truth: Diary of a Gutsy Tween by Dr. Barbara Becker Holstein


Growing up for preteens is tough, but having a secret diary can help. That’s what the unnamed sixth-grade narrator of The Truth: Diary of a Gutsy Tween discovers. Recording her toughest questions and most intimate thoughts, the narrator’s musings will help preteens address real-life problems, questions, and emotions. She will help other girls answer questions like: How do you deal with a bully? A teacher who says you’ve asked a “silly” question? Or when parents fight? Dr. Barbara Becker Holstein covers a spectrum of usual tween troubles girls will relate to, teaching them how to handle difficult situations and how to carry the best part of themselves into adulthood.

A great book for mothers and daughters to read together, The Truth will help improve communication, understanding, and self-esteem for young girls on the cusp of becoming a teenager.


About the Author

Dr. Barbara Becker Holstein is a positive psychologist and writer. Holstein is the originator of the Enchanted Self® positive psychology method for increasing happiness and has a private practice in New Jersey. She is the author of positive therapy books for adults such as The Enchanted Self, as well as a series of popular fictional diaries for girls.

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Drama Review~Wild Chives and Soybean Soup (First Half)

Title: Wild Chives and Soy Bean Soup: 12 Years Reunion/Jang Gook becomes Dal Rae: Reunion in 12 Years
Writer: Kim Yi Kyung
Director: Kim Do Hyung, Yoon Jae Won
Producer: Go Jung Ho, Jo Joon Hyung

Main Cast: Yoon So Hee as Jang Gook, Lee Won Geun as Yoo Joon Soo, Ryu Hyoyoung as Joo Da Hae

Genre: Romance, Comedy, Family
Original Airing: 22 March 2014
Running Time: Saturdays and Sunday at 20:45
Original Channel: jTBC
No. of Episodes: 13/26
Language: Korean
Links: MDL ~ Wikipedia ~ DramaFever ~ Drama Site

Synopsis: This drama will depict humorous clashes between two families of a high school couple who become pregnant after a mischievous World Cup night in 2002 and are forced to marry but break up due to opposition from their families. They go separate ways and the girl goes so far as to change her name and face to live a completely different life. Then the couple reunite twelve years later and get entangled in each other’s lives all over again.

My Rating: 8.5/10

My Thoughts: And this marks the end of the past portion of the drama. They decreased the number of episodes from 50 to 26. I don't know how they are going to manage everything but at least it means that half of the drama was the past story and the other half will be the present one. Which is exactly what I wanted. So I'm kinda happy :)


I was obsessed with this drama in the beginning! Even when I stopped watching anything because of the exams, I skip watched this drama because I couldn't wait. But then after 12 episodes I stopped watching because my exams got tough. After exams I finished all the pending dramas except this one. I don't know why but I didn't feel like watching it. A couple of days ago I decided to watch it and finished half the drama.


I really like the story! It is interesting and though it is very family-dramaish, I enjoyed it. Maybe because I don't watch many family dramas so I found this different and nice. It had good humor, nice twists and was very comfortable to watch. I liked all the different stories. It was like 4-5 dramas in one. But it wasn't bad, it actually worked!


The acting was amazing! I can only hope the adult actors do as good a job as the kids did because they were awesome! They acted so well that you hated the characters you were supposed to hate, felt sorry for the characters you were supposed to feel sorry for, loved the characters you were supposed to love. You laughed with them, cried with them, and felt the emotions they felt. They were very real characters, very relatable and believable.


I'm really looking forward to the next half of this drama! I really hope it is as good as this one!

Saturday, June 21, 2014

Book Review~A is for Abstinence by Kelly Oram

Title: A is for Abstinence
Author: Kelly Oram
Series: V is for Virgin #2
Publisher: Bluefields
Pub Date: May 12th 2014
Format: ebook
Pages: 204
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, New Adult

Synopsis: Six-time Grammy Award-winning musician Kyle Hamilton has it all—money, fame, talent, good looks, and a job he loves. His only regret in life: walking away from a certain notorious virgin because he was too prideful, stubborn, and even afraid to give her the only thing she asked of him—his abstinence. 

Four years and a broken heart later, Kyle realizes that sex isn’t everything, and he suddenly can’t stop thinking about the girl that got away. Virgin Val Jensen got under his skin like no one else ever has. He wasn’t ready for her then, but things are different now. He’s grown up, he’s learned a few things, and he’s finally figured out exactly what he wants, or, rather, who he wants. 

Kyle Hamilton wants a do-over, and this time he’s willing to do—or not do—whatever it takes.


Rating: 10/10
Source: ARC given to me by the author in exchange of an honest review.

Cover Talk: I love how this cover has the same theme as the one for V is for Virgin! Kyle is not like the one I imagined but he's not so bad. I like this cover.

My Thoughts: 


I loved this book! As much as I loved V is for Virgin, if not more! Kyle & Val were beautiful! I hardly ever cry over romantic scenes but I cried over them in this book! Kyle & Val are my OTP <3


The story wasn't suspenseful or mysterious but it was interesting enough that it would keep your attention and simple enough that you could relax while reading it.

The characters were great! They were very real. The dialogue was very real. Their personalities were ones you could relate with.

I loved how emotions were shown in this book. The different relationships and how they were portrayed. The author broke the stereotypes and made her characters and their relationships with each other unique but also something people could relate to.

There were a lot of steamy scenes! And boy did I love those! I loved reading the book from Kyle's POV! I liked getting to know more about him and getting into his head!

I love Ms Kelly Oram's writing! It is very fun to read! She writes descriptions, emotions and dialogues really well so it is very easy for the reader to imagine the surroundings and feel the emotions the characters are feeling.

I would maybe someday re-read this book because I love Kyle & Val. I'm very sad that I won't get any more of their story.


But the ending was perfect! And I could always imagine what would happen next ;)

I highly recommend this book, and V is for Virgin, for anyone who likes contemporary romances and YA and NA! Both of these books are amazing! And if you like these then check out her other books as well because Kelly Oram is a great writer and her books never disappoint!

About The Author:

Kelly Oram wrote her first novel at age fifteen–a fan fiction about her favorite music group, The Backstreet Boys, for which family and friends still tease her. She's obsessed with reading, talks way too much, and loves to eat frosting by the spoonful. She lives outside of Phoenix, Arizona with her husband and four children.

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Summer Book Crush: Book Boyfriends Are Here!

What would you say to over 80 titles with many undeniably-hot BOOK BOYFRIENDS that leave you wanting more? Yep, we've got you covered. The second annual SUMMER BOOK CRUSH event runs this year from June 19th through June 22nd. Don't miss it, or you will have to wait a full year for the next one!

main banner2
       
So many ways to fall in love with just a right BOOK BOYFRIEND! And the best part? You can purchase your dream Book Boyfriend for only 99¢ each, but for a limited time only.

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Korean Variety Show "Roommate"


I don't usually watch variety shows AT ALL! But during my exams I needed something to relax me. I couldn't watch a TV show or drama or read a book because then I wouldn't be able to stop. And I had been seeing Roommate a lot around Tumblr. So I decided to give it a try. And now I am hooked!


I love it! It's so funny! But I also like how it focuses on family and friendship. I knew half of the Roommate cast before so it is really interesting to see how they are in real life.


I can sense that a lot of it is scripted but it doesn't bother me much. I just wish they would stop forcing the love lines and let the people be. I enjoy their daily interactions. I like how caring and nice they are towards each other, even if it may be for the camera.


In this show 11 celebrities have been put into the same house and are now living as housemates. They have been separated into rooms with 2 or 3 people in each and we get to see how they go about their daily lives.

The cast includes:

1. Lee So Ra, Park Bom and Song Ga Yeon in Room 1


I did not know any of them before this show. I really like So Ra, she is like an older sister. Bom has a weird personality but she is very likeable. Ga Yeon is probably my favorite out of all the roommates. She is really cute and innocent!

2. Jo Se Ho and Lee Dong Wook in Room 2


I didn't know both of them either, before the show. Se Ho is really funny but I feel sorry for him. He isn't treated that nicely... I know it's weird but I had no idea who Lee Dong Wook was before the show. I knew about Hotel King but I never saw the drama neither have I ever seen anything with him in it. I really like him though. He is nice and I like his friendship with Se Ho and how he treats Ga Yeon like a sister.

3. Hong Soo Hyun and Nana in Room 3


I've seen Hong Soo Hyun in Lie To Me and I really liked her in that. It's really nice to see her here. I did not know Nana and in the beginning she seemed very narcissistic but I like her now.

4. Park Chan Yeol and Shin Sung Woo in Room 4


I knew EXO but I was never a huge fan so I did't know Chan Yeol. I love him on Roommate! He is so cute and innocent! And I love his relationship with Shin Sung Woo. I didn't know Shin Sung Woo either, before but I really like him! He is like a father/mother to everyone (Hence the nickname Mama Shin) and he cares so much for everyone.

5. Park Min Woo and Seo Kang Joon in Room 5


Now these two pretty boys I did know (and love) before the show. I've seen Min Woo in Flower Boy Ramyun Shop and I loved him in that! I love him even more in Roommate! And while Roommate was airing I was also watching Sly and Single Again. That is where I saw Kang Joon. I loved him in Sly and Single but he is very different in Roommate. I do still like him though.


If you're thinking of watching Roommate then you definitely should! It's funny but also emotional and the cast is really nice. It is a good way to relax and take a break.

Saturday, June 7, 2014

Author Interview~Lance Conrad (Author of The Price of Creation)


Hello Lance! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog for an interview!

Hello! Thanks for having me on your blog, I appreciate it.

Lets start with the interview! My first question is:

What made you decide to become an author?

I had been writing as a hobby for years while I went through a lot of jobs. It ended up like a person who has gone through seven or eight divorces, there comes a time when they have to ask "Could it possibly be me?" After ten to fifteen jobs (always quit, never fired), I had to ask myself that question, and the answer was "Yes, it's you, you dolt!"
I would always get bored and wander off to the next thing. I needed something I couldn't get bored with and that was writing. Writing is infinite. There will always be new worlds, magics, and technologies to be created, new characters to be given life.
In the end, saying that I was an author was more of an admission than a choice.

Is there a message in your book that you want your readers to grasp?

Absolutely. Even the bloody titles are an invitation. I would hope that each of my readers would ask themselves, "What is the price of creation?" "When are we justified in securing our own success at the expense or neglect of others?"
Questions like that don't always have simple answers. Questions like that take a story to understand.

Do you base any of the events in your book on your own life experiences?

I wouldn't say any, I'd say all. I dress it up in symbols and broad stories and I shatter myself into lots of characters; but at the end of the day, all of these stories are personal. They are reflections of things I have experienced and want to share with my readers.

Do you have a blog of your own?

thehistoriantales.blogspot.com is my personal blog. I occasionally talk about writing and books, but more often it's my own mad ravings.

If you could do it over again, would you change things about the book?

Oh yes. It's strange, but the other books I've written felt complete, but this one was my first, so I always feel some discontent about it. I think I could go the rest of my life rewriting it and never feel like it was complete.
One example right off the top of my head would be Sadavir's mother, Lauria. In my head, she is a very powerful and vibrant character, but her role in the book is quite minor and most readers I've talked to didn't really relate to her at all. So if I could go back, I'd flesh that character out more.

Is there anything you’d like to say to your readers?

I can't tell you how much power my readers have over my world. I know it shouldn't affect me so much, but whenever someone tells me they liked my book or were inspired by it, it puts a smile on my face for days. I hope that my readers realize how much they matter to me on a personal level.

Any advice you would give to new or aspiring writers?

Build an inner circle for yourself. You can't reach your full potential on your own, people simply aren't built that way. You also can't release your writing to a mob, to be nitpicked and shredded until there is nothing of you left in it.
You must handpick a few people whose opinion you trust and who will be honest with you. They will help you refine your writing, find your voice, and even get you past your writer's block. This is your inner circle, and your choice of who to include will impact your writing deeply.
Choose wisely.

Do you ever plan on writing outside your current genre?

I actually have plans for a couple sci-fi books in the Historian Tales series. I also have sketches for some historical fiction and even a murder mystery. We'll see if I ever get around to writing them, but they've been stuck in my mind a long time.

Is there a character in your books that you relate to closely?

I see myself in almost all of my characters, even the bad guys, but there are a few that hit especially close to home. One of those is the Historian himself. He is controlled by compulsions he doesn't understand to witness stories he never truly feels a part of. I feel a lot of those same fascinations, as well as the detachment.

Are you writing full time, or do you have another job as well?

I don't have another job, though lately I've been spending more time promoting my books and speaking at schools than writing. A writer in today's market must wear many hats.

How do reviews, positive and negative, affect you?

Truly a lot more than they should. I've been lucky so far that almost all of my reviews have been positive, 5-star reviews. I've got a couple 4-stars that I'm ok with. Then there is that 3-star review, and it haunts me. When the day comes that some reader rips into me and gives me a 1-star review, I'll probably curl up in a ball and cry for a day or two. I know it shouldn't be so personal to me, but it is.

How important are character names? How do you choose yours?

I can honestly say that every character name is meaningful to me in some way, though I don't think I could explain why for most of them. One example where I can is my main character in The Price of Creation, Sadavir. It is an East Indian name that means Courage.

Are there any types of scenes you have trouble writing?

Travel scenes. I often skip them altogether and have the party already at the new destination and cover the trip there in a flashback or something. For some reason, writing about the mundane logistics of travel irritates me. I always feel like I put in too much detail and made it boring, or I don't put in enough and made it unrealistic.

What advice would you give to your younger self?

Stop wasting time. I knew I wanted to be a writer for almost ten years, but I never believed I could make a living doing it. So instead of chasing my own dream, I spent my time working on other people's dreams and chasing the illusion of security.

That is great advice! It was a lot of fun having you on the blog! Thank you!

For more information about the author and his books here are some links:


Books by Lance Conrad:

Friday, June 6, 2014

Movie Review~To Each A Flower


Title: To Each A Flower
Main Cast: Mario Maurer as Boyfriend
Genre: Life, Romance
Release Date: 2011
Running Time: 20 minutes
Language: Chinese
Links: My Drama List ~ Viki

Synopsis: Two very moving tales that both revolve around the common theme of love. For anyone who has ever felt the passion and heartbreak of love, these stories will move your heart. “To Each a Flower” is a 2011 Chinese Web short film.

My Rating: 9/10

My Thoughts: Almost all the reviews I have read of this movie have been negative. And I also get why they were negative. But I on the other hand really loved this movie!

This short movie is about relationships. About a cheating boyfriend and a girl who has this image in her head of the kind of boyfriend he should be. This movie, though, isn't that straightforward. It has metaphors which you have to understand yourself. Some people would say it makes the movie complicated. I say it makes the movie more beautiful.

The camera work and acting aren't that good but it isn't that bothersome. There aren't many dialogues and body language is more important. In such a short movie, the story is the main focus. Music plays a big role in this movie. I think this movie is at least worth a watch. And if you don't like it, looking at Mario's gorgeous face isn't a complete waste after all. ;)

Thursday, June 5, 2014

TV Show/Drama Review ~ Pushing Daisies

Title: Pushing Daisies
Creator: Bryan Fuller
Main Cast: Lee Pace as Ned, Anna Friel as Charlotte "Chuck" Charles, Chi McBride as Emerson Cod, Kristen Chenoweth as Olive Snook, Ellen Greene as Vivian Charles, Swoosie Kurtz as Lily Charles, Jim Dale as Narrator

Genre: Comedy, Drama, Fantasy, Mystery, Crime, Romance
Original Run: October 3, 2007 – June 13, 2009
Running Time: 42 minutes
Original Channel: ABC
No. of seasons: 2
No. of Episodes: 22
Language: English
Links: IMDb ~ Wikipedia ~ Amazon 

Synopsis: A pie-maker, with the power to bring dead people back to life, solves murder mysteries with his alive-again childhood sweetheart, a cynical private investigator, and a lovesick waitress.

Trailer: 



My Rating: 10/10

My Thoughts: I love this show so much, I don't know where to start this review! Let me just start by saying that everyone NEEDS to watch this show! It's seriously very amazing!

Story: As you probably read in the synopsis, this show is about Ned, the pie-maker, who has a special ability. He can touch people and bring them back to life! But after a minute someone else dies in their place. So he has to touch them again within that minute to make them dead again. He works with Emerson Cod, a private investigator, and solves crimes. One day, while working on a case, he meets his childhood sweetheart but she's dead! Overcome by feelings he brings her back to life, permanently. She then lives with him but both of them have to be careful not to touch each other or she'll be dead again. And then there's Olive Snook, who works at the Pie Hole and is in love with Ned.


Reading the above paragraph it may seem like I gave a lot of spoilers but really, I didn't. All this happens in the first episode and if you watch the trailers you can figure it out too. So, each episode follows Ned, Chuck & Emerson, and sometimes Olive, solving a new case. Now it isn't like CSI, all forensics and other serious stuff. This has plenty humor. Even the motives are usually pretty funny! And you will have many LOL moments while watching this show.


Too much humor for you? Well this show deals with the serious stuff too. Ned had a troubled childhood. His mother died and his dad abandoned him. And then dealing with this kind of a special ability can be pretty scary for a child. So now he is very closed, or in his words, he lives 'a very sheltered life.' We see him break through his shell. There are also topics of family and trust and friendship and love.


I read in a comment that if Tim Burton and Dr Seuss had a baby, it would be this show. And I very much agree!

Characters: All of the characters in this show, and I mean ALL of them, were awesome! They were all perfect in there way and I loved each and every one of them!

Despite what Ned had to go through, he is one of the nicest people ever! He is thoughtful and considerate Lee Pace did such a great job playing him! From the slump of his shoulder to the way he looked at Chuck, Lee Pace was the best Ned ever! And ohmyGod Lee Pace's voice!!! <3 I'll stop my fangirling now... OK so, Ned. Even though he is such an amazing person he makes mistakes, like all of us. He is selfish sometimes, like all of us. The better part about him is that he acknowledge his mistakes and tries to right them, unlike all of us. Ned is someone we should aspire to be. He is a good inspiration.


I love how 'real' Chuck is. She makes irrational choices, is selfish sometimes, is probably less nice than Ned but she is someone you can really relate to. Her actions and decisions annoyed me sometimes but I knew that that is what I had probably done as well. I did not love her like I loved Ned but she was still a pretty great character.


Emerson, oh Emerson. How I love your witty remarks and 'too cool to care' attitude! And how I love it even more that beneath that huge exterior, you have such a warm and fuzzy heart! I seriously loved Emerson from the start! He is a character with many layers. And he may not show it but he loves his friends a lot. There is also a past mystery in his story which I'm not going to tell. ;)


I loved loved loved Olive!! She is one of my favorite fictional characters! I didn't like her in the beginning, I think it was because of how she dressed and looked, but boy can looks be deceiving! She may look like a desperate, attention-seeking girl and she is that, but not in the way you might think. She also has a back story which makes her this way. She has loved Ned for a long time and she only wants to be loved back. Olive is so innocent and likeable! Most times I just wanted to climb into the screen and give her a hug! I would love having a best friend like her! I also loved her musical numbers! :D


Lily and Vivian were so crazy and fun! I loved their sisterhood! I loved Vivian's innocence and Lily's love for Vivian!


I would also like to mention some side characters I really liked. The first is Digby, Ned's dead-again dog. Their relationship was really sweet. I also really liked Randy and his friendship with Ned and relationship with Olive.

Romance: The great thing about Ned's and Chuck's relationship is that even though they can't touch each other, they love each other very much! Their romance is really sweet and their relationship is very life-like. Sure they have the problem of not being able to touch each other but they also face many of the problems real couples do. It's just so cute to see Ned so in love with Chuck!


Distinguishing Factors: There are a couple of things that make this show different from the other ones. The first one is the visual design. It's very bright and colorful but in a good way. It is pleasing to the eyes and makes you happy. The production designer Michael Wylie said that, "My goal was a storybook come to life. I wanted everything to look almost like an illustration." The other thing is the narration, done by Jim Dale. It made watching this show so much more fun!



Final Verdict: This show was amazing! It made me so happy and I will definitely watch it again! The only sad thing is that it was cancelled too soon, which honestly sucks because the world needs more TV shows like Pushing Daisies.

Monday, June 2, 2014

EXAMS OVER!!! (This post contains weird nonsense so read at your own risk!)


Finally the exams are over and I'm done with my first year of college! I'm not gonna lie, it has been HARD! But I made it out! And I'm pretty sure I did good on the exams too...


Now three months of FFFUUUNNNN!! Well I do have some classes but I won't be as busy as I would be in September so


I've never waited for summer vacation so eagerly as much as I waited for this one! I've never been this excited about summer vacation either! I'm so excited that even though I haven't slept in almost 24 hours (I had an exam today so I studied all night because I can't sleep before an exam) I'm not sleepy at all! I feel like singing and dancing and


I have so much to do! Firstly I'm going to clean my room because it is a mess! Then I'm going to watch all the TV show & drama episodes I missed. There are a lot of shows whose finales have aired but I couldn't watch them because of the exams. So I'm going to do that...


I also have so many books I need/want to read! I'm halfway through Game of Thrones and loving it! I received A is for Abstinence (by Kelly Oram) ARC and I cannot wait to read it!!!! I've planned that I'm going to read all the review books this summer so I can start taking review requests again. (Wish me luck!)


I have a lot of blog posts planned as well. I have a couple of reviews I need to write but I also planned many discussion posts and I can't wait to get started on them!


So much to do! It feels so good to be back! Well I'm going to go and try to get some sleep. See you soon!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...