Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Book Review~Remembrance (The Mediator #7) by Meg Cabot

Title: Remembrance
Author: Meg Cabot
Series: The Mediator #7
Publisher: William Morrow
Pub Date: February 2nd 2016
Format: ebook
Pages: 400
Genre: Romance, Fantasy, Adult, YA

Synopsis: You can take the boy out of the darkness.
But you can’t take the darkness out of the boy.
All Susannah Simon wants is to make a good impression at her first job since graduating from college (and since becoming engaged to Dr. Jesse de Silva).
But when she’s hired as a guidance counselor at her alma mater, she stumbles across a decade-old murder, and soon ancient history isn’t all that’s coming back to haunt her. Old ghosts as well as new ones are coming out of the woodwork, some to test her, some to vex her, and it isn’t only because she’s a mediator, gifted with second sight. 
From a sophomore haunted by the murderous specter of a child, to ghosts of a very different kind—including Paul Slater, Suze’s ex, who shows up to make a bargain Suze is certain must have come from the Devil himself—Suze isn’t sure she’ll make it through the semester, let alone to her wedding night.
Suze is used to striking first and asking questions later. But what happens when ghosts from her past—including one she found nearly impossible to resist—strike first?
What happens when old ghosts come back to haunt you?
If you’re a mediator, you might have to kick a little ass.

Trailer: 


Rating: 9.5/10
Source: Bought
Cover Talk: It's nice but I wish it matched the previous books.

My Thoughts: I was stoked when Meg announced there is going to be a new Mediator book! I've been a huge Mediator fan since I was a kid and these are the books that introduced me to YA. So I couldn't wait to get my hands on the new book! And I finally did! I must say, it did not disappoint! 


Writing: What can I say, it's by Meg Cabot. One of my all-time favorite authors. So obviously I loved it. It had the same feel and atmosphere of the previous books but there was also a more mature and adult tone to it and I loved that! I love how Meg can do comedy that makes me laugh out loud as well as tragedy that makes me bawl. The writing definitely lived up to the previous books!


Story: Again, it was a Mediator book so obviously the story was amazing with mystery and suspense and romance. There were many plot twists that I didn't see coming and the story was very gripping which left me wondering what would happen next. It followed the pattern of the previous books with having a ghost story line and a personal Suze & Jesse story line. The ghost story line hit a little too close to home and made me cry a lot. I felt like the Suze & Jesse story line ending was very anticlimactic especially considering the buildup to it but I still loved it!


Characters: It was so good to meet all my favorite characters again! Suze was just as badass and sassy as ever! Jesse was as swoony and amazing as ever! Paul was as annoying and evil as ever! It was nice to see them all grown up. I loved seeing how everyone's lives turned out! Since this was more adult Meg had the freedom of making it more real. So it was nice to see these characters deal with adult problems. 


Overall: I loved this book! It was just as amazing as the previous ones! And if you haven't read The Mediator series yet then what are you waiting for?! Go and read them and then come back here and fangirl with me! :D

About The Author:



Meg Cabot (born Meggin Patricia Cabot on February 1, 1967 in Bloomington, Indiana, United States) is an American author of romantic and paranormal fiction for teens and adults and used to write under several pen names, but now writes exclusively under her real name, Meg Cabot. She has written and published over fifty books, and is best known for The Princess Diaries, later made by Walt Disney Pictures into two feature films of the same name. Meg's books have been the recipients of numerous awards, including the New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age, the American Library Association Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers, the Tennessee Volunteer State TASL Book Award, the Book Sense Pick, the Evergreen Young Adult Book Award, the IRA/CBC Young Adult Choice – as well as many others (see awards section for specific book wins). She has had numerous No. 1 New York Times bestsellers. Cabot has more than fifteen million copies of her books—children's, young adult, and adult—in print worldwide.

Monday, August 22, 2016

Drama Review~Ex Girlfriend Club (Korean)

Title: Ex Girlfriend Club
Writer: Lee Jin Mae
Director: Kwon Seok Jang
Main Cast: Byun Ho Yan as Bang Myung Soo, Song Ji Hyo as Kim Soo Jin, Lee Yoon Ji as Jung Hwa Young, Jang Ji Eun as Na Ji Ah, Ryu Hwa Young as Rara, Do Sang Woo as Jo Gun
Genre: Romantic Comedy
Original Run: May 8, 2015 - June 13, 2015
Duration: 60 minutes
Original Channel: tvN
No. of Episodes: 12
Language: Korean

Synopsis: Bang Myeong Soo is a popular writer of webtoons. He then writes a webtoon series about his past relationships, specifically his four ex-girlfriends, which includes an older, wealthy divorcee, a chic and successful woman who works at an investment firm, and a third-rate, airhead actress. The webtoon reveals plenty of details about Myeong Soo's love life, and it becomes a huge hit. Soon, Myeong Soo is considered a cross between Public EnemyNumber One and National Heartthrob, and his webtoon gets adapted into a movie.
Kim Soo Jin is a film producer who's prepared to do whatever it takes to save their failing production company. Because of this, she accepts the assignment to produce a webtoon adaptation. But to her horror, Soo Jin belatedly finds out that the webtoon artist is her ex-boyfriend Myeong Soo, and that she's one of the girlfriends he wrote about. And as the movie starts shooting, the project also brings Myeong Soo's other ex-girlfriends back into his life all at the same time.


Trailer: 


My Rating: 9/10

My Thoughts: The was such a different and refreshing drama! Especially the romance. No stupid miscommunication, no disrespect, no unnecessary drama. The couple had real problems and they solved them like real, mature people. It sucks that this drama wasn't very popular and they had to cut down the episodes. But even after the episode cut it was really good and definitely became one of my favorites!


Story: Ex Girlfriend Club had a pretty unique story. It may seem typical but the way it played out was very different. It involved real-life problems but in an exaggerated way so it wasn't exactly a slice of life but the exaggeration made it interesting instead of unbelievable. I loved the conflicts and how our main characters overcame them. There was never a dull moment and the story was pretty interesting.


Actors/Characters: I loved all the different characters we got to see in this drama. Each girl had her own unique personality and quirks and the best part was that all of them were flawed, real characters. They had some good traits and some bad which made them real people and hence easy to sympathize with.


Romance: This was my favorite part of the drama. It was just so sweet and comfortable and real. It's the kind of relationship I dream of having. Myung Soo and Soo Jin were such good friends and so comfortable with each other. They loved each other in more than just a romantic way. They're definitely one of my all-time favorite drama couples!


Overall: I loved this drama and it really sucks not many people know about it. Highly recommended if you're in the mood of a light rom-com with good solid characters, a real romance and a interesting  story.

Sunday, August 14, 2016

Interesting Reads Set in Exotic Places (Guest Post by Caroline @ Culture Coverage)

 

Books have the power to transport us to amazing places, and with summer finally here, for those of us not lucky enough to get away on holiday this year, delving into the pages of these fantastic reads offers a perfect cure for our wanderlust.

These five novels, with relatable characters, exciting plotlines and fantastically described settings, provide incredible vicarious traveling experiences and are sure to have you hooked in an instance.


1. The Devil & Miss Prym – Paulo Coelho

Set in the quaint coastal town of Viscos in southern France, this installment in Coelho’s famed series of moral narratives follows a young man seeking to instigate unrest in this peaceful and isolated community.  Miss Prym, a young and idyllic barmaid who longs to make her escape from the sleepy hollow, is thrown into a crisis of morality when the stranger explains he is willing to swap a large amount of gold for an unspeakable deed.

Th novel is set largely around the dynamics of remote village life. It includes picturesque descriptions of the scenic town that are reminiscent of Italy’s famed Cinque Terre and many other beautiful continental cliff-side settlements of coastal Europe. You can almost imagine the seaside breeze on your face and the smell of salt in the air as you turn the pages.

2. Eat, Pray, Love – Elizabeth Gilbert

What’s better than a novel set in one exotic place? A novel set in three! In terms of indulging in spectacular scenery, local culture and mouthwatering cuisine, “Eat, Pray, Love” does it best. This famed book has been gaining fans all over the world and is a wonderful representation of the transformation traveling can produce.

Liz is a divorcee, failed girlfriend and altogether discontented with her stale life in America. Instead of accepting her mediocre fate, she buys three tickets, boards a plane and grabs the world by the tail—visiting Italy to eat, India to learn the art of meditation, and Bali to follow her destiny.

Fans of this memoir will be pleased to know that the film version is available on Netflix, but only for subscribers from the U.S. and certain other countries. If you find it’s blocked where you are, then you can follow this Netflix guide by Secure Thoughts to help gain access. 

3. A Thousand Splendid Suns – Khalid Hosseini

Many know of “The Kite Runner,” Hosseini’s legendary novel and subsequent film, which is also available on Netflix. This fantastic release looks at growing up in war-torn Afghanistan from a female perspective.

The book follows two women: the first, a young illegitimate child whose hot temper regularly finds her in trouble at the hands of men; the other a lovesick young girl who is forced to succumb to her family’s wishes to marry her off to an older man when she discovers she’s pregnant.

It’s a harrowing tale, but also an inspirational one, as the two women eventually find solidarity in each other and a strength of spirit that can only be harnessed after so many years of abuse and oppression. Beautifully painted onto a background of the breathtaking Afghan landscape, this tale is truly an unmissable read. 


4. Wanderlove – Kirsten Hubbard

|A combined delight of pictures and drawings, this book does an incredible job of transporting readers to the many spectacular destinations that its plot ventures. “Wanderlove” tells the story of a young, rebellious girl named Bria who has set out on a journey of self-discovery. Readers are treated to tales of remote Belizean islands, ancient Mayan settlements and hikes beneath jungle canopies.

Another key text about womanhood and what it means to find yourself, this story is an essential read for all young girls who have felt the bite of wanderlust. The lessons Bria learns throughout her travels are poignant and relevant to every one of us. The book is a beautiful testimony to how being unsettled can eventually bring you to a place of true peace and understanding.

You can also follow the author, Kirsten Hubbard, and her own amazing adventures on her social media sites. For in-depth recounts of her travels and wonderful photography check out her Tumblr account, which she updates after every journey.


5. The Violet Hour – Whitney A. Miller

If you’re a fan of a little darkness and mystery alongside your vicarious travel, then this one is definitely for you. As part of a strict spiritual movement set in the Far East, Harlow is expected to be perfect at all times. With high hopes for her future and suspicions she will go on to be the next leader, there is no room for error.

However, Harlow fails to take the cult seriously and instead believes it’s all fiction and is more interested in the pop culture of the day than archaic beliefs. After embarking on a journey from Tokyo to Beijing, she realizes that all she’s been told is merely an understatement of reality. Skillfully navigating the supernatural, this epic tale is well crafted and ends with an incredible twist. It’s well paced, descriptive and perfectly structured, making it a truly successful piece of literature.

The sequel to this book, “The Crimson Gate,” has also recently been released, so it’s a great time to get involved with the franchise.


These fives books are all truly interesting reads that will transport you to exotic locations; however, there are many more to chose from. If you know of a novel or author that deserves a place on this list, then be sure to leave a comment below.

About the Author:
Caroline is an entertainment blogger for Culture Coverage and a lifelong bookworm. When she’s not curled up with her latest must-read, she’s scouring the internet in search of new and exciting tales. 

Monday, July 4, 2016

My TV Year In Review

All the TV shows I follow have finished airing their latest seasons so I thought I'd do a seasons' end review for them all.

Reign (Season 3)


This season started out so bad but improved so much! It was much better than the last season. I'm so glad they turned the romance down a notch and increased the politics because that's what I came here for! I hated Elizabeth at first but she grew on me. I had started hating the weak Mary but finally the writers did her some justice by the end and made her the strong and fierce Mary I knew and loved! I enjoyed the political drama so much and I loved how Catherine was at the heart of it. This season saw the departure of many of my beloved characters. They will be missed. :'( I just hope they don't kill off more of my favorite characters. Like Leith. And give Bash a bigger role next season please! He's an amazing character and deserves his own story-line. I think it's been a long time coming and I'm glad he was getting more scenes by the end of this season so I hope next season is bigger for him. I'm looking forward to the rivarly between Mary & Elizabeth next season and I can't wait to see how Narcisse will take his revenge on Elizabeth!


Supernatural (Season 11)


What was this season?! We had God's sister, and God, and what not and it was so boring! I don't even remember most of the season TBH. I remember struggling through each episode hoping it would be interesting. But the Darkness story-line was just not for me. The only episodes I enjoyed were the filler case episodes. Lucifer Cas isn't Cas. I want Cas! And can you make Destiel happen already?! Character wise they were all the same. I loved Sam & Dean & Crowley. I enjoyed Rowena at first but then got tired of her. Beloved character deaths :'( It's just the story I had a problem with. I hope next season is better.


The Vampire Diaries (Season 7)


It's only the seventh season? I feel like it's been a lifetime since this show used to actually be good. Now it's just absurd stories trying to pull through from one season to the other. I mean what even was this season?! During most of the episodes I sat there laughing at the absurdity and swooning over Ian's hotness. Damon was the only good thing on the show. But his character's getting ruined too. So I'd say Ian's looks (& those gorgeous eyes) are the only good thing on the show. I feel like Paul's so tired of the show that he doesn't even bother changing his facial expressions. He has the same face in every scene! Bored. The story was all over the place and had so many plot holes! I hated most of the new characters. The character deaths didn't even bother me TBH. Just let Matt die please. I feel sorry for the poor guy. I hate how Bonnie gets treated on the show. I hate how Damon is with everyone and gets away with it too. This show needs to end. I heard the next season was the last one. Lets hope so.


The 100 (Season 3)


Why show?!!! Why you do this to me?!!! Lincoln was my favorite character ever! I loved him and they killed him and now my heart is broken </3 I didn't like this season much compared to the previous seasons. Not only because of the pointless deaths but I didn't like the overall story. It was interesting and very engaging but I felt like something was missing. I've started hating Jasper. If anyone had to be killed then it should've been him. I loved the rest my squad though <3 I've also come to really like Murphy. I really hope they don't kill off any of my faves next season. I feel next season will be a hard one. I wish my babies would get a break.


Shadowhunters (Season 1)


I didn't like the first book much and I really didn't like the movie but I was still excited for the show and was pleasantly surprised by how good it was! Sure the acting and editing was sort of sloppy at first but I think over the season they improved A LOT! This was my favorite show this season. They changed up the story a lot and I'm glad because I think they made it better. I LOVED the characters, especially Izzy & Alec. Malec be my new favorite OTP :') I got so attached to all of them! And that season finale!!! I can't wait for the next season and the awesomeness it would bring!


Once Upon A Time (Season 5)


This was the Dark Swan & Hades season, right? Or was Dark Swan last season? I do remember Hades being there this season... See my problem? This used to be my favorite show. This season was so boring though. There were good parts but overall it was meh. Especially compared to the previous seasons. I don't have much to say about it because I don't really remember much. Except Hercules being such a cutie! I wish they would've kept him for more than one episode.


Well this was my TV year in review! What shows did you watch this season? Any good recs? And did you watch any of these seasons? If yes then I'd love to hear your thoughts about them!

Saturday, July 2, 2016

Fangirling Over Doctors (Spoiler Free)

Not real doctors (not that they aren't amazing as well) but I'm talking about the new kdrama (Korean drama) Doctors (a.k.a. Doctor Crush) which has won the hearts of many as soon as it started airing. Yes, that new Park Shin Hye drama that everyone, including me, was skeptical about. Well I've kinda fallen in love with it. Okay not kinda, I'm completely fallen head over heels in love with it! And I'm here to fangirl over it today!


This drama! THIS DRAMA! Is ruining my life! It's so so good! 4 episodes have aired to date and it has made me laugh, cry, hate, love and feel all kinds of emotions! And that too from the first episode! It was love at first sight with this drama.


You know how Park Shin Hye has always played that poor, weak girl in need of prince charming? Well she is that girl no more! In Doctors she plays a tough cookie who isn't afraid to kick some butt! And boy can she kick! I had no idea Park Shin Hye would be this good a fighter! Them high kicks girl! The fighting scenes were easily my favorite part! And though I haven't watched Pinocchio (I know! I'm so bad! I can't count the times this drama has been recommended to me! Chill, I'm getting to it!) I must say Park Shin Hye's acting has improved A LOT! Let's hope her kissing has too!


I have never seen nor heard of Kim Rae Won before but *heart eyes*. I love nice guys! I'm so tired of all the bad boys in dramas! So I love me some nice guy who smiles and cares and is totally adorbs! And Hong Ji Hong (the character played by Kim Rae Won) is all that and more! He's a doctor turned high school teacher and I can totally see why so many girls have a crush on him! Not only is he really nice and caring but is an upstanding citizen and a great doctor! Me being a medstudent, I was so totally impressed by that scene in which he saves the pregnant lady. Plus he is pretty straightforward so (I hope) no drama! You know, of the relationship kind. At least not from him.


I was kind of worried about the age gap. Though the couples in almost all the dramas I've seen with a huge age gap have been amazing (Secret Love Affair, Prime Minister & I), I'm always worried about the chemistry. Well nobody need worry with Doctors because the chemistry between Park Shin Hye & Kim Rae Won is so good! They just click together so well! I started shipping them from the very first kick! Definitely going into my favorite OTPs list!


The story so far has been so amazing! It's very rare that I develop such a deep bond with characters but I did with this drama. Their joy is my joy, their pain is my pain. I can't count the times this drama has made me cry, be it happy tears or sad. All them feels!


I also love the medical aspect of it. It's weird how happy I got when I saw a copy of KLM's Clinically Oriented Anatomy in one of the scenes. I was like I read that book! That's where I study anatomy from! I know, I'm pathetic. But even though sometimes what they show is exaggerated, I do love watching a drama about a profession I'm pursuing.


The characters have been written so well! The villains aren't bad just for the sake of it. I can totally understand how and why they turned out that way. Even the side characters have important roles to play in the story. And some of them are such cute bunnies I can't even! My favorite side character till now would be Hye Jeong's grandmother! This lady is so amazing!! I can't go on or I'll start crying again but I just love her!!


If you haven't started watching this drama yet then I hope I persuaded you into doing so because this drama is amazing and you're missing out on a lot if you're not watching it. And if you are then let me know what you think about it in the comments below!!

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Mini Book Reviews

I've read 8 books till now in 2016 but have reviewed none. So here are my thoughts about the books I've read so far:

Divergent (Divergent #1) by Veronica Roth


8/10. Wow! Dystopian might be my new favorite genre! I loved Divergent! The story was really interesting and the world-building was amazing! My favorite part about the book were the characters. I hardly ever get attached to characters the way I did with Tris. It felt like she was a friend. And I desperately wanted to be there for her. Overall an amazing book! I can see what all the hype is about!

Insurgent (Divergent #2) by Veronica Roth


7/10. This kinda fell short. It was good, the story was interesting, I still loved the characters. But it was draggy. It had too many scenes where nothing happened and as a result I struggled to finish it.

Wish You Were Italian by Kristin Rae


9/10. This was such a cute book! I've always wanted to go to Europe. But since I can't for now, I sort of fulfill my dream through books set in Europe. Not only was Italy so amazing and fun, the story was super adorable and I fell in love with the characters! It had a 'Anna & The French Kiss' like feel and easily one of my favorite books.

Proposal (The Mediator #6.5) by Meg Cabot


10/10. I was so beyond excited for this and the 7th book! I'm a HUGE Mediator fan! So naturally I loved this! I love how it has the same elements the previous books did, my beloved characters are just as badass and adorable, but I also love the adult aspect added to the book. My babies all grown up. :') I can't wait to read the seventh book!

Every Boy's Got One (Boy #3) by Meg Cabot


6/10. It was short and sweet. Not very memorable. Enjoyable at the moment but to be honest I don't even remember the characters' names anymore. So can't say much about this one.

Point of Retreat (Slammed #2) by Colleen Hoover


DNF. I LOVED Slammed. So I was expecting to love Point of Retreat as well. And I tried to love it. I tried so hard. And yet... There was just too much drama. It was like I was watching a soap opera. And I've never liked those. And when the drama of all dramas happened I was like no. Can't do this anymore. I love CoHo but I just couldn't with this one.

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover


8/10. I've been wanting to read a New Adult for ages and I've heard a lot of good stuff about Ugly Love so when I finally got my hands on it I was ecstatic! And it was amazing! Though not as amazing as I was expecting it to be. But it came close. Very close. I loved the characters, the relationships, the story. And I might even have shed some tears.

The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins


8/10. Loved it! Awesome thriller! Though it did not quite live up to the hype, I was expecting something more heart-racing, it was pretty good. It was a calm, silent type of thriller. I liked the unpredictability of the characters. And I never saw the twist coming. It kept me engaged and I really enjoyed it.

Monday, June 20, 2016

I'm back!


I haven't posted at all since medschool started. Not because I didn't have time. Well that's one of the reasons. But also because I didn't feel like it. I didn't feel like blogging or reading or writing or watching any of my favorite shows. It was like with medschool this part of my life ended. And I wasn't exactly sad. I went out with friends, I actually enjoyed studying, and the free time I got I made sure to catch up on my sleep. But I did miss this part of me. I missed immersing myself in a book. I missed being excited about writing. I missed watching all my favorite shows. And yet I didn't feel like doing anything about it.

Now that summer vacation rolled around I have had a chance to reconnect with my old self. I've started writing again which feels so amazing! I've been devouring book after book. I have yet to catch up on my shows but I'm getting there. And I've decided to start blogging again. I'll be posting reviews again and some other more personal stuff like my first year as a medstudent. So stay tuned! And I hope I'm able to continue this when school starts again...


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...