Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Mini Hiatus

Hey guys! Hope you all are doing good and had a great Thanksgiving! I just wanted to let you know that I won't be posting from next week till 22nd December. My mid-terms are starting from 10th December and I need to revise and stuff. Can't let my grades fall! So this blog is going on a mini hiatus. Please don't abandon me while I'm gone!

XOXO~Hira


Monday, November 26, 2012

From The Boy Closet (1)~Dash from Dash & Lily's Book of Dares

From the Boy Closet is a weekly meme hosted by A Good Addiction.

My pick from the boy closet today is Dash. Since I recently read Dash & Lily's Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn you can say that he is my newest fictional crush.


He's not the bad boy type I'm used to, but I occasionally fall for nice nerdy guys too, and he falls in that category. He's the cute loner guy who loves to read books. What more could a girl want?! And his wit is really impressive. As Mrs. Basil E. said, “I find young Dashiell to be not contemptible, for a specimen of teenage male. His persnicketiness is not nearly as delightful as he’d have one believe, but he has his own charm nonetheless. Articulate to a fault, perhaps—but a forgivable and, dare I say, an admirable misdemeanor.”

I think having to go through your parents divorce and then having such a irresponsible father must be hard. Considering that, Dash is pretty nice. He's sweet and kind and well an all around nice guy. Also, he has a good sense of humor and he made me laugh numerous times in the book! I would love to date him!


Here are a few quotes that made me fall in love with him:

"Are you a teenage boy?
If yes, please turn the page.If no, please return this to where you found it."
I was sixteen and equipped with the appropriate genitalia, so I cleared that hurdle nicely.

I turned to find Priya, this girl from my school, somewhere between a friend and acquaintance—a frequaintance, as it were.

My father had slipped me a hundred-dollar bill and told me to go to town with it. In fact, his exact words were, “Don’t spend it all on booze and women”—the implication being, of course, that I should spend at least some of it on booze and women.

I decided if I were ever to get into booze and women, my line would be Excuse me, madam, but I would really love to bed and muss you…. Are you perchance free this evening?

Luckily, I always travel with a book, just in case I have to wait in line for Santa, or some such inconvenience.

“You really think love needs to have a future?”
“Absolutely.”
“Good,” Lily said. “So do I.”
“Good,” I echoed, leaning in. “So do you.”
“Don’t repeat what I say,” she told me, swatting at my arm.
“Don’t repeat what I say,” I murmured, smiling.
“You’re being silly,” she said, but the silliness was falling out of her voice.
“You’re being silly,” I assured her.
“Lily is the greatest girl who ever was.”
I drew closer. “Lily is the greatest girl who ever was.”
For a moment, I think we’d forgotten where we were.
And then the officers returned, and we were reminded once again.

Books For Thought (2)~Bad Boy or Nice Boy in Books?

Books For Thought is a weekly meme hosted by LA Femme Readers.

Are you more attracted to the bad boy or the nice boy in books?

My answer: Well, it's a bit of both I think. Mostly it's bad boys 'cause, well, they are so much hotter. :P But occasionally I fall for the nice, gentle-man-like guys too. So I guess, it just depends on the character.

What about you? Which type of boy do you usually find yourself drooling over?

Manga Mondays (2)~Fruits Basket by Natsuki Takaya (Vol. 1 & 2)

Manga Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Alison Can Read.

I recently watched an anime, Fruits Basket. Some of you may have heard about it. I saw it on a lot of anime/manga related sites so I finally decided to watch it. I really loved it! Though the story was left open ended in the anime, it was a really sad and beautiful story. And since I loved it so much I decided to read the manga too.


Synopsis (from Goodreads): Tohru Honda was an orphan, living with her grandfather, when one day fate kicked her out of the house and she was forced to take up residence in a tent in the forest. Little did she know that the land she was staying on belonged to the Sohma family, a mysterious clan. After stumbling upon the teenage squatter, the Sohmas invite Tohru to stay in their house in exchange for housework. Everything's going well until she discovers the Sohma family's greatest secret: when hugged by members of the opposite sex, they each turn into their Chinese Zodiac animal!


Sounds cool, right? It is! But what's amazing about this story is, that along with all the fun and humor, it holds great life lessons. For example, there is one chapter that teaches us to appreciate ourselves and not to envy others for what they have but to be thankful for what we have. 


All the characters are so great and lovable! Tohru is so sweet and, while some people find her annoying, I think she's a great person and there should be people like her in the real world. I know there are, but they are very rare. She's so selfless and kind and positive. She's the kind of person who would make you feel better even if you were having the worst day of your life.


Shigure is such a funny character! I simply adore him! I didn't like Yuki much. It's not like I hate him or anything, but I don't like him either. I just don't feel anything towards him (no offense Prince Yuki fans!). I love Momiji! He's ssooo adorable!! And I love his name! Oh and Hatori and Kagura are also two of my favorite characters. Basically I like all the characters. :P


But there is one character I love to hate. And that is Akito. I don't care what he has gone through, he has no right to treat everyone like he's some God! According to the story that I know till now, he has scarred every member of the zodiac and everyone STILL say that it's not his fault. I would love to know how he is not to blame.


And then there's a character I love to love! Kyo ♥ I already love cats! [I would have my own once I start living on my own. My parents won't let me have one right now :( ] And Kyo is the cat. (I know there is no cat in the Chinese zodiac but according to this story it was left out... and well it's a long story. So basically Kyo's the cat.) Plus he's hot. And I think his story is so sad. </3 And he doesn't pretend, like Yuki does. I hate people who pretend to be someone they're not just to be liked by others. I get that it's not Yuki's fault and the poor guy does it 'cause he has to. But I appreciate that Kyo doesn't. And even though he has a temper, and it goes out of hand sometimes, it's sweet that he tries to tone it down for Tohru.


I'm still on the third volume of the manga, but I'm really looking forward to the story ahead and to getting to see more of the zodiac animals and their stories. This is a really great manga, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes to read mangas with a life lesson (and a little bit of romance) plus humor and a great story line!

Oh and I almost forgot! I personally like the illustration of the anime better than that of the manga. I don't think it was done by the same person, but the characters in the anime look better. But that's just my opinion :)

Musing Mondays~5


Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.

This week’s musing asks…

Do you read the ending before you start a book? Do you ever skip ahead to read the ending?

My answer: Never! I don't like ruining the book for myself. Even if I'm tempted to, I never skip to the end or read the ending first. 

But, I did do it for one book. That would be The Long Weekend by Savita Kalhan. As I have mentioned in my review, this book was torturing me. And I needed to make sure that all was going to be okay in the end. Because if it wasn't then I'd have to brace myself to take that blow. Other than that, as far as I can remember, I've never skipped to the end. It just takes the fun out of the book (sometimes).

What about you? Do you skip to the end/read the ending first or do you prefer to keep the mystery intact?

Saturday, November 24, 2012

Book Review~The Long Weekend by Savita Kalhan



Title: The Long Weekend
Author: Savita Kalhan
Publisher: Andersen Press
Pub Date: November 11th 2008
Format: Paperback
Pages: 180
Genre: Horror, Thriller, Suspense, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult
Synopsis: Sam knows that he and his friend Lloyd made a colossal mistake when they accepted the ride home. They have ended up in a dark mansion in the middle of nowhere with man who means to harm them. But Sam doesn't know how to get them out. 

They were trapped, then separated. 
Now they are alone. 
Will either of them get out alive? 

This gripping and hypnotic thriller will have you reading late into the night...

Trailer:

Rating: 9.5/10
Source: I won a signed copy in a giveaway. Thank you to Savita for sending it to me! :)

Cover Talk: The cover is so amazing! It's exactly how I imagined the mansion. It totally corresponds to the atmosphere of the book. It's so creepy that the cover alone gives you the chills! Plus I love the fonts used! And the color scheme. Basically I love the whole cover!

My Thoughts: Oh. My. God. I'm never reading thrillers again. If thrillers torture you like this? I'm never reading them again!

I mean.... seriously? At times I forgot to breath because I was so caught up in this book. It had me on the edge of my seat, my heart thumping like crazy. 

And that is why I don't usually read thrillers. Because I cannot torture myself like that... I just can't...

This book was fudging amazing!! The story was so gripping. "This gripping and hypnotic thriller will have you reading late into the night." is true! It did have me reading late into the night. Especially at the end. 

Oh God, I don't even know how review this book. Wait. *deep breath* I'll start again.

I don't usually read this genre. But trying something new doesn't hurt, does it? Actually it does. I found out that me and thrillers don't really mix well. It's not that I don't like them. It's just that I can't torture myself like that. But I'm pretty happy I read this book because I loved it!

The story was really good. And what's scary is that it could happen in real life. The twists and turns were amazing and unexpected and it really kept you reading.

The writing was pretty good too. At times it didn't engage me much but that occurred very few times. And the way it was written, it was really how an 11 year-old must think.

There were only 3 characters in the book and they were well developed and nicely done. I don't think the book needed any more characters. The crazy man was so crazy that I wanted to pick up a shovel myself and   smash his head to pieces! And I was very happy with Sam. He really used his brain well and I was very proud of his courage. I got really angry at Lloyd at times but the poor boy had gone through a lot. And he was so innocent. No wonder he was in such shock. I really felt sorry for him too.

I think the reason this book was so scary is because it was so realistic. I mean, there are actual crazy people, like that man, in this world. I have an 11 year-old brother myself and to have a kid like that go through all this.... hell I couldn't even go through all that! And then the writing made you feel like all of that was happening to you which was why I said it was like torture.

I think The Long Weekend was a great book and if you're a fan of thrillers then you should definitely check it out!

Favorite Quotes:

“Fear made you cold. It made you tremble. Anger made you hot. It made you want to hurt someone.” 

“They sat quietly, shoulder to shoulder, listening to the sound of nothing. Nothing can sound very loud sometimes, louder than noise, even louder than a jumbo jet passing overheard.” 

About The Author:

Savita Kalhan was born in India, but now lives in the UK and studied at the University of Wales. She has traveled extensively, and lived in the Middle East for several years, where she taught English. 
She is keen on tennis, boxing and running. Recently she took up allotment gardening and somehow manages to fit in some writing, reading and blogging too! She is married and has a teenage son.

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Book Review~Dash and Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan



Title: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares
Author: Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
Publisher: Harlequin UK Ltd (MIRA Ink)
Pub Date: Oct 5 2012
Format: ebook
Pages: 188 (376)
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, YA
Links: Goodreads ~ Amazon ~ Book/Author Site: David Levithan ~ Rachel Cohn
Synopsis: "I've left some clues for you. If you want them, turn the page. If you don't, put the book back on the shelf, please."
Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?
Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.
Rating: 10/10
Source: Netgalley. A HUGE thank you to the publishers!
Cover Talk: I love the cover! I love snow and I love winters. Plus the signs and colors of the cover just look so… inviting! This cover would definitely catch my eye at a book store.

My Thoughts: I loved this book!! I could have finished it all in one go (and then spent the next day at school sleeping) but the power went out when I was half-way into the book (at 12 a.m) and then I had to go to sleep and look forward to finishing it when I got back from school. But when I did, I couldn't read it because after that I had to rush to a school function. Finally when I was done with all that (and very tired) I came back home and sat on my computer to read. But the power went out again (Booo!!). And then I spent the whole next day finishing my book instead of studying (I even missed school but since nothing much was going to happen, that was fine).

I was feeling depressed and frustrated because it’s my last year and the studies are getting really tough. I seriously needed a distraction which would put my mind at ease. But I didn't want to read a sad book because then that would make me more sad. So I decided to randomly pick a book. If I liked it through the first few pages then I would continue. If not, then I would read something else. Luckily, my first choice was Dash & Lily, and it got me hooked from the first line!

I loved the humor, especially in Dash’s chapters. This book had me laughing out loud at so many moments! I loved how David wrote Dash’s chapters and Rachel wrote Lily’s. It created a great diversity and gave each of the characters their own voice. So, the writing was simply amazing! I’m definitely checking out more work by both of these amazing authors.

The story was so good! It was a different and unique idea. I really loved the mystery of it all. How they lived in the same city but hadn't ever met each other, but still knew so much about each other just because of a notebook. How the notebook helped change their life. It made me wish something like this would happen to me too! I especially liked that even after they met, the notebook didn't disappear. It was still there. Because it was special.

I loved all the characters in this book. Dash & Lily were such relatable characters. They were real people. They went through things that you might have. And you could picture yourself as them. I felt like I was a lot like Lily in some ways. For example I stay in my own bubble and don’t socialize much. Neither do I take risks, just like Lily didn't in the beginning. The side characters were really lovable! I loved Lily’s extended family, all the characters added something special to the book. I really liked Dash’s friends, except Priya. She bugged me a lot! I don’t know why, she just did.

The romance  Oh the romance was just perfect! Especially, considering what I was looking for. It was so sweet and swoony! I didn't want hot and heavy and I’m so glad I didn't get that! The romance was just so cute!! I loved the dashing Dashiell! I want a Dash! You know how girls usually like mysterious hot guys? I am one of those girls. But this trend is getting annoying. I mean EVERY book has a Damon Salvatore now a days! And I’m getting kinda tired of this. So I fell in love with Dash. He was a fresh change from hot & mysterious plus he loves to read! :D

This book was a great pick-me-up and I loved every bit of it! I would love to read it again! If you’re looking for a cute little romance with a little mystery in it, or are just looking for a good holiday read, then this is your book!

Favorite Quotes: Oh God, there are so many! I wish I could share them all with you! But since I can’t (:() I’m only going to mention a few here:

“I’m looking for Fat Hoochie Prom Queen,” I declared.
He did not respond.
“It’s a book,” I said. “Not a person.”
Nope. Nothing.

“Are you a teenage boy?
If yes, please turn the page. If no, please return this to where you found it.”
I was sixteen and equipped with the appropriate genitalia, so I cleared that hurdle nicely.

I turned to find Priya, this girl from my school, somewhere between a friend and acquaintance—a frequaintance, as it were.

Luckily, I always travel with a book, just in case I have to wait on line for Santa, or some such inconvenience.

Prayer or not, I want to believe that, despite all evidence to the contrary, it is possible for anyone to find that one special person. That person to spend Christmas with or grow old with or just take a nice silly walk in Central Park with. Somebody who wouldn't judge another for the prepositions they dangle, or their run-on sentences, and who in turn wouldn't be judged for the snobbery of their language etymology inclinations.


It is much harder to lie to someone’s face.
But.
It is also much harder to tell the truth to someone’s face.

Maybe, I thought, it’s not distance that’s the problem, but how you handle it.

Yes, girls want their princes, but boys want their princesses just as much. And they don’t want a very long courtship. They want to know immediately.

She led me into a room that could only be called a parlor. The drapery was so thick and the furniture so cloaked that I half expected to find Sherlock Holmes thumb-wrestling with Jane Austen in the corner.

It both mystified and intrigued me that such a seemingly dour person as Dash was great friends with an extremely exclamation-pointed person as excitable Boomer.

I need to keep my mind open for what could happen and not decide that the world is hopeless if what I want to happen doesn't happen. Because something else great might happen in between.

The important people in our lives leave imprints. They may stay or go in the physical realm, but they are always there in your heart, because they helped form your heart. There’s no getting over that.

And this was my favorite (swoony) scene:

“You really think love needs to have a future?”
“Absolutely.”
“Good,” Lily said. “So do I.”
“Good,” I echoed, leaning in. “So do you.”
“Don’t repeat what I say,” she told me, swatting at my arm.
“Don’t repeat what I say,” I murmured, smiling.
“You’re being silly,” she said, but the silliness was falling out of her voice.
“You’re being silly,” I assured her.
“Lily is the greatest girl who ever was.”
I drew closer. “Lily is the greatest girl who ever was.”
For a moment, I think we’d forgotten where we were.
And then the officers returned, and we were reminded once again.

About The Authors:

RACHEL COHN & DAVID LEVITHAN have written three books together. Their first, Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist, was made into a movie starring Michael Cera and Kat Dennings, directed by Peter Sollett. Their second, Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List, was named a New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age. For their third book, Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares, David wrote Dash’s chapters and Rachel wrote Lily’s. Although they did not pass the chapters back and forth in a red Moleskine notebook, they did email them to each other without planning anything out beforehand. That’s the way they work.
Rachel’s previous books include Gingerbread, Shrimp, Cupcake, You Know Where to Find Me, and Very LeFreak. David’s previous books include Boy Meets Boy, The Realm of Possibility, Are We There Yet?, Wide Awake, Love Is the Higher Law, and How They Met, and Other Stories.
For more information about Rachel and David, you can find them at rachelcohn.com and davidlevithan.com, respectively. You may also catch them in the aisles at the Strand.


Extras:

Inspiration for writing Dash & Lily (by Rachel Cohn):

David and I knew we were ready to write another book when we had two things:  (1) two names – Dash & Lily (which are connected to the iconic Nick & Nora names, if you can figure that one out), and (2) a fun premise – in this case, a scavenger hunt that would also be a way for two characters to play a game of cat and mouse with each other.  With those two things in place, the book pretty much wrote itself…with lots of help from characters like Boomer and Mrs. Basil E.  And what’s more fun than New York City at Christmas?  (Well, there are dividing opinions on that). Once we had these two things, we followed our typical writing process: He wrote a chapter, emailed it to me, and I picked up where he left off, with not much discussion along the way. We try not to discuss our books too much while we’re writing them so that readers can be as surprised as we are by what happens.

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Timeless Release Day!!

It's finally here!! The moment we all have been waiting for! *insert drum-roll* Today is the release day of Timeless by Michelle Madow!! I could not be more excited right now! :D


In celebration of the release week of TIMELESS (November 20, 2012 – November 27, 2012), two special weeklong deals will be occurring:

  1. The e-version of REMEMBRANCE will be reduced from $2.99 to $0.99 on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Kobo.
  2. Anyone who purchases TIMELESS during the release week is eligible to receive a free personalized REMEMBRANCE bookmark signed by Michelle Madow. To claim a bookmark, email timeless@michellemadow.com with your name, mailing address (as it should appear on the envelope), and proof of purchase (a screenshot/photo of your purchase confirmation, or a photo of TIMELESS on your e-reader.) This offer is international. 
Purchase Links:
Quotes from Reviewers about TIMELESS:

"The combination of time travel, magic, and love makes Timeless an unforgettable page turner!"
-For Those About to Read
    
"Timeless had great twists, particularly towards the end. For something inspired by a Taylor Swift   
song, Michelle has come up with a great series!"
-Addiction to Words Reviews

"Just when I think I know what to expect, Michelle throws me a curveball! It was spectacular. And 
marvelous. And a little bit daring, which is what makes Timeless stand out so much!
-Sparkles and Lightning

About Timeless:

  
IT'S A RACE AGAINST TIME.

In Remembrance, Lizzie and Drew changed the course of fate so they could be together.

In Vengeance, Chelsea set fate back on its original, deadly path.

Now, strange things keep happening to Lizzie. Things that are omens of darkness to come. A curse has   
doomed her to die an early death, just as she did in her past life. To make things worse, even if she can   
figure out who cast the curse, it's irreversible. There's only one option left for her to save herself. It's 
crazier than anything she's heard yet, and to do it, she'll need Drew and Chelsea's help.

Because to make things right, they must go back to when it all began …

About the Transcend Time Saga:


The Transcend Time Saga is about a high school student named Lizzie who has been reincarnated from Regency Era, England, but doesn’t realize it until she meets her soul mate from the past and he triggers her memories to gradually return. The series began with Remembrance (published July 25, 2011), and continued with the short story Vengeance (published December 8, 2011). The series has sold a significant number of copies so far, and has received much praise from reviewers.

Quotes from Reviewers about REMEMBRANCE

" If you were to take a dash of Romeo and Juliet, a handful of Pride and Prejudice, and a pinch of a Disney fairytale, you'd probably come up with Remembrance!"
-Gilbert & Gomez

"I enjoyed everything about Remembrance. The dialogue was fantastic, the pace moved perfectly, the romance was charming, and the story was brilliant!"
-Shortie Says

About the Author:


Michelle Madow was inspired to write Remembrance after seeing Taylor Swift's "Love Story" music video while a junior at Rollins College in Winter Park, FL. The song and video gave her the story idea about a high school girl reincarnated from Regency Era, England. She handed in the first chapter as a homework assignment for class, and when her teacher and classmates wanted her to continue writing, she decided to go for it. By the end of the school year, her first novel was completed!

Michelle graduated from the Park School of Baltimore in 2005, where she always took two English classes each semester. She graduated from Rollins College in 2010, cum laude with a Bachelor of Arts in English. At Rollins she was a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars, and a member of the International English Honor Society Sigma Tau Delta.

She received the Charles Hyde Pratt Award for Excellence in Creative Writing in 2010.

For more information on Michelle and her books, please visit www.michellemadow.com.

Michelle lives in Florida, where she is hard at work writing more novels for young adults.

Connect with Michelle online:  

Official Website: www.michellemadow.com
Twitter: www.twitter.com/michellemadow (@MichelleMadow)
Facebook Personal Page: www.facebook.com/MichLMadow


Monday, November 19, 2012

Book Review (ARC)~Timeless by Michelle Madow



Title: Timeless
Author: Michelle Madow
Series: Transcend Time Saga #3 (Final)
Publisher: Dreamscape Publishing
Pub Date: November 20th 2012
Format: ebook
Pages: 205
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal
Synopsis: IT'S A RACE AGAINST TIME.

In Remembrance, Lizzie and Drew changed the course of fate so they could be together. 

In Vengeance, Chelsea set fate back on its original, deadly path. 

Now, strange things keep happening to Lizzie. Things that are omens of darkness to come. A curse has doomed her to die an early death, just as she did in her past life. To make things worse, even if she can figure out who cast the curse, it's irreversible. There's only one option left for her to save herself. It's crazier than anything she's heard yet, and to do it, she'll need Drew and Chelsea's help.

Because to make things right, they must go back to when it all began …



Trailer: 
Rating: 9/10
Source: I received this book be the author in return for an honest review. Thank you so much Michelle!
Cover Talk: I like the cover, but I wish it would've been like the previous two. I love it when a series have similar covers (as in not exactly the same but the same theme or color scheme), like Remembrance and Vengeance had. It shows that the books are from the same series. This cover is too different.

My Thoughts: When I received the book I was like:

Then I realized I was having my exams and I was like:

But I couldn't control myself so I read a little every night, and spent the whole next day like this:

But it was so worth it!! I loved this book! It had me hooked from the first page and if I wouldn't have been having my exams, I would've read this book all in one go!

I think this was the perfect finale! It had suspense, adventure, romance and even a little bit horror. I loved every moment of it!

The writing was, as usual, great. I really like Michelle's writing. She doesn't over do descriptions and keeps everything fresh and entertaining.

I really liked how I got to learn more about Chelsea's and Lizzie's friendship. It made me understand Chelsea much better. And she isn't that much of a bad person.

And how can I forget Drew?! Oh Drew...

We get to see more of Drew's family in this book. But I don't think there was much of Drew in the book. I wish I would've gotten a chance to read more about him, or more of his scenes.

Also there weren't many romantic scenes in the book either. And I know that it's me, not the book, but I would've liked more romantic scenes too. I love me some romance 

You know how Jane Austen said "If a book is well written, I always find it too short." That's exactly how I feel about this book. I really didn't want it to end. This book, and the series. But sadly they did...


*sniffing* Well all in all, it was a great book. The only reason I gave it a 4.5 was because it didn't have more of Drew or romance in it. But that's just me...

If you have read the previous books, let me tell you, you are going to LOVE this book!

And if you haven't, then what are you waiting for?! Go and buy them! They are wonderful!

Favorite Quotes:


His grandparents were going to think I was totally pedestrian. “Don’t worry,” Drew said, as if he could read my mind. “They’re going to love you.” “How do you know?” I asked. “Because I love you,” he said, nuzzling his nose into my cheek. “So they have no other choice but to love you as well.”

He kissed me then, sweet and loving, the warmth of his lips making the cold disappear around me. In moments like this, it was only me and Drew, and nothing could touch us. If only those moments could last forever.

About The Author: 


In the fall of 2008, Michelle saw Taylor Swift’s “Love Story” music video for the first time. She thought up a story to go along with the video, and wrote the first chapter as a homework assignment for class. Her classmates and teacher loved it so much that they wanted to know what happened next, so Michelle continued writing, and that story eventually became Remembrance, the first novel in the Transcend Time Saga. She’s so happy to be able to share this series with you, and hopes you enjoy reading it as much as she loved writing it!

Check out her website, www.michellemadow.com, to add her on Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, and her many other social networking sites.

Michelle lives in Florida, and is hard at work writing more novels for young adults.

Extras:
To read my review of Remembrance click here.

To read my review of Vengeance click here.

Sunday, November 4, 2012

Showcase Sunday (1)

Showcase Sunday is a weekly meme hosted by Books, Biscuits and Tea.

I haven't done this in a while. Before this I used to participate in In My Mailbox which is somewhat the same. But now I've switched to Showcase Sunday simply because I love Vicky! She's the sweetest person ever. Not that I don't like Kristi or anything (though after all the plagiarism drama I'm not so sure), but I like Vicky more :P

I'm not showcasing ALL the books because, well, they're A LOT. So I'm just going to show you the stuff I got in the mail (and I'm so excited 'cause this is the first time ever I got things in the mail!! :D)

First up is a signed copy of a book I won in a giveaway a couple of months ago; The Long Weekend by Savita Kalhan:

Thank you so much to the author who sent me the book!! :D (Review will be up soon)

Second is a swag pack I received from Astrid Yrigollen, the author of His Black Wings, for participating in the cover reveal.

Astrid is so sweet! She even sent a personalized hand-written thank-you note! Isn't that the nicest thing ever? Thank you Astrid! I can't wait to read His Black Wings!

So, what did you get this week?

Sunday Quotes (1)

This is where I'll share some of my favorite quotes with you guys.

“You've gotta dance like there's nobody watching,
Love like you'll never be hurt,
Sing like there's nobody listening,
And live like it's heaven on earth.” 
~William W. Purkey

“Be the change that you wish to see in the world.” 
~Mahatma Gandhi

“So many books, so little time.” 
~Frank Zappa

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” 
~H. Jackson Brown Jr.P.S. I Love You

“I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” 
~Maya Angelou


So, what do you think? I love these quotes! Which one is your favorite? Do you like any quotes you would like to share? If so, then please share them with us in the comments and I'll feature them here next Sunday with your name :)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...